About The CompetitionAll about the Young Horticulturist competition and what it offers.
3rd & 4th November 2021, Auckland.

Participation in the competition offers many benefits, including valuable industry contacts and the opportunity to connect with your peers across the wider horticulture industry.

Test Your Skills

The Young Horticulturist Competition is an opportunity for you to benchmark your skills against your peers across the wider horticultural industry. As a finalist, you'll need to draw on your knowledge and experience as you take part in a range of challenges, including:

Horticultural Practical

Leadership Skills

Speechcraft

Business Acumen

Industry Knowledge

About the Competition

The Young Horticulturist Competition is an annual event that brings together all sectors (e.g. Master Landscapers, NZ Plant Producers etc.) of horticulture. Winners from sector competitions meet and will compete in a two-day event held on the 3rd & 4th of November 2021 in Auckland.

For enquiries about the competition, contact the Event Manager Hayley Govorko

Our Vision

Our vision is to help seed the future now. We aim to achieve this by attracting the best people from across all horticultural industries to engage and invest in their competition.

About the RNZIH Education Trust

The competition was launched in 2005 and is managed and run by the RNZIH Education Trust, a voluntary group of industry professionals.

The Vision of the RNZIH Education Trust is to help seed the future now. This will be done through attracting the best people from across all horticultural industries to engage and invest in their competition.

The RNZIH Education Trust manages the Young Horticulturist of the Year competition on behalf of the RNZIH, the sponsors and the horticulture industry.

The RNZIH Education Trust

Board Members

Image of Hamish Gates

Hamish Gates Hamish.B.gates@gmail.com

Chair
Image of Shaun Trevan

Shaun Trevan shaun.trevan@cornwallpark.co.nz

Vice Chair
Image of Nicola Rochester

Nicola Rochester nicola.rochester@icl-group.com

Board Member
Image of Ingrid Ennis

Ingrid Ennis ingrid.ennis@tnseeds.com

Board Member
Image of Ben Buchanan

Ben Buchanan ben.buchanan@hotmail.co.nz

Board Member
Image of Jo Guy

Jo Guy jo@mayfieldgroup.co.nz

Board Member
Image of Chris Thompson

Chris Thompson chris@bioforce.net.nz

Board Member

Non-Board Members

Image of Joanna Mason

Joanna Mason joanna.mason@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Secretary
Image of John Beaumont

John Beaumont johnchabeaumont@gmail.com

Treasurer
Image of Hayley Govorko

Hayley Govorko event.manager@younghort.co.nz

Event Manager

Moderation

1. All components on day 1 of the YH Grand Final are overseen by an independent moderator, Alistair Gordon, Primary ITO, who follows NZQA guidelines for the components.

2. All components on day 2 are moderated by the RNZIH Education Trust