About The CompetitionAll about the Young Horticulturist competition and what it offers.
2024 DATES : To be announced, Auckland

Participation in the competition offers many benefits, including valuable industry contacts and the opportunity to connect with your peers across the wider horticulture industry.

Test Your Skills

The Young Horticulturist Competition is an opportunity for you to benchmark your skills against your peers across the wider horticultural industry. As a finalist, you'll need to draw on your knowledge and experience as you take part in a range of challenges, including:

Horticultural Practical

Leadership Skills

Speechcraft

Business Acumen

Industry Knowledge

About the Competition

The Young Horticulturist Competition is an annual event that brings together all 7 sectors (e.g. Master Landscapers, NZ Plant Producers etc.) of horticulture. Winners from sector competitions meet and will compete in a two-day event held in Auckland. 2024 DATES; To be announced, location, Auckland.

For enquiries about the competition, contact the Event & Sponsorship Manager Shona Willis.

Our Vision

The vision of the RNZIH Education Trust is to "Help seed the future now". This will be done through attracting the best people from across all horticultural industries to engage and invest in their competition.

About the RNZIH Education Trust

The competition was launched in 2005 and is managed and run by the RNZIH Education Trust, a voluntary group of industry professionals.

The Vision of the RNZIH Education Trust is to help seed the future now. This will be done through attracting the best people from across all horticultural industries to engage and invest in their competition.

The RNZIH Education Trust manages the Young Horticulturist of the Year competition on behalf of the RNZIH, the sponsors and the horticulture industry.

The RNZIH Education Trust

Board Members

Image of Hamish Gates

Hamish Gates chair@younghort.co.nz

Chair
Image of Shaun Trevan

Shaun Trevan shaun.trevan@cornwallpark.co.nz

Vice Chair
Image of Nicola Rochester

Nicola Rochester nicola.rochester@icl-group.com

Board Member
Image of Ingrid Ennis

Ingrid Ennis ingrid.ennis@tnseeds.com

Board Member
Image of Jo Guy

Jo Guy jo@mayfieldgroup.co.nz

Board Member
Image of Darren O'Shea

Darren O'Shea doshea.genetic@gmail.com

Board Member
Image of Claudia Knarston

Claudia Knarston claudia.knarston@thinkwater.co.nz

Board Member
Image of Craig Hart

Craig Hart craig.hart@xtra.co.nz

Board Member

Non-Board Members

Image of Pip Joyce

Pip Joyce secretary@younghort.co.nz

Secretary
Image of John Beaumont

John Beaumont johnchabeaumont@gmail.com

Treasurer
Image of Shona Willis

Shona Willis event.manager@younghort.co.nz

Event & Sponsorship Manager

Moderation

  1. All components on day 1 are moderated by the RNZIH Education Trust

  2. All components on day 2 of the YH Grand Final are independently moderated by an experienced assessment moderator.