Training tomorrow’s horticultural leaders

The aim of the competition is to encourage young people in horticulture to further develop their skills and knowledge and to increase the opportunities for long term careers in the industry.

2016 Young Horticulturist of the Year Finalists


Find us on Facebook

Past competitions

See competitors talking about participating in the competition here.


2017 Finals

The finals for 2017's Young Horticulturist of the Year are
15 & 16 November
. Day one is at the Auckland Botanic Gardens and day two complete with the Awards Dinner is at Auckland's Grand Millennium Hotel.

2016's Winners

New Zealand’s Young Horticulturist of the Year 2016 was Andrew Hutchinson. Based in Pukekohe and representing Horticulture New Zealand Andrew  competed with five other finalists ... more

Awards Winners

  • Winner: Andrew Hutchinson
  • Second: Jeanette Barker
  • Third: Paul Southan

AGMARDT Market Innovation Project
Jeanette Barker

Bayer Best Practice Award
Cameron Price

Primary ITO Career Development Award
Andrew Hutchinson

T&G Practical Activities Award
Andrew Hutchinson

Fruitfed Supplies Leadership Award
Andrew Hutchinson

Countdown Best Speech Award
Andrew Hutchinson

2016 awards news release

Horticultural Sector Contacts

Andrew Hutchinson
Young Horticulturist of the Year 2016


Join our Newsletter List

* = required information please
First name


Competition Partners

Thanks to the generosity of our sponsors the Young Horticulturist of the Year competition offers a fantastic range of prizes and awards. Check these out.



If you wish to make a one off gift to the competition or set up a regular donation/ gift by automatic payment, the RNZIH Education Trust bank account details are as follows:

  • Kiwibank Wellington
  • 38 9005 0683075 00

Please use your surname as the reference.

Many thanks for your kind donation.